Search

This Food is Dimming Your Glow


Pasta, pizza, bagels, bread, cake, pie, pancakes, tortillas, cookies, gravy, soy sauce, beer, malt, peanut butter, mustard, jam, mayonnaise, lunch meat, salad dressing, marinades. This is an extremely short list of all the foods that gluten is found in, some are obvious, and some, not so much. When we speak of a gluten intolerance, we most often think of the extreme case called celiac disease, but this extreme is not always the case, we can have a mild gluten intolerance and not realize it.


Gluten is a protein found in wheat products that can cause negative effects that we don’t realize are happening such as inflammation that leads to premature aging and weight gain, and compromised digestion which dims your glow, that’s why you should avoid gluten all together. Unfortunately, gluten is in just about everything and you’ll never know it. Here are some of the names for hidden gluten you can look for in ingredient lists.


The different names of gluten ingredients:

Triticum vulgare (wheat)

Triticale (a cross between wheat and rye)

Hordeum vulgare (barley)

Secale cereale (rye)

Triticum spelta (spelt, a form of wheat)


Ingredients that always contain gluten:

Wheat protein/hydrolyzed wheat protein

Wheat starch/hydrolyzed wheat starch

Wheat flour/bread flour/bleached flour

Bulgur: A form of wheat

Malt: Made from barley

Couscous: Made from wheat

Farina: Made from wheat

Pasta: Made from wheat unless otherwise indicated

Seitan: Made from wheat gluten and commonly used in vegetarian meals

Wheat or barley grass: Will be cross-contaminated

Wheat germ oil or extract: Will be cross-contaminated

Bulgur

Durum (type of wheat)

Farro/faro (also known as spelt or dinkel)

Barley (flakes, flour, pearl)

Modified wheat starch

Rye bread and flour

Seitan (a meat-like food derived from wheat gluten used in many vegetarian dishes)

Semolina

Spelt (type of wheat also known as farro, faro, or dinkel)

Triticale

Wheat bran

Wheat flour

Wheat germ

Wheat starch

Hydrolyzed wheat protein

Kamut (type of wheat)


Ingredients that may contain gluten:

Vegetable protein/hydrolyzed vegetable protein: Can come from wheat, corn or soy

Modified starch/modified food starch: Can come from several sources, including wheat

Natural flavor/natural flavoring: Can come from barley

Artificial flavor/artificial flavoring: Can come from barley

Caramel colors

Modified food starch

Hydrolyzed plant protein (HPP)

Hydrolyzed vegetable protein (HVP)

Seasonings: May contain wheat fillers

Flavorings: May contain wheat fillers

Vegetable starch: May contain wheat fillers

Dextrin and maltodextrin: Both sometimes made from wheat

Breading, bread stuffing

Brewer's yeast

Graham flour

Malt, malt extract, malt syrup, malt flavoring

Malt vinegar

Malted milk

Matzo, matzo meal

Oatmeal, oat bran, oat flour, whole oats (unless they are from pure, uncontaminated oats)


2 views0 comments